villacentury.blogg.se

Black ink tattoo shop
Black ink tattoo shop






black ink tattoo shop

Six years later, she is tattooing professionally and working out of a studio space in her apartment, where she works with predominately Black and brown women, femmes, and queer folks. We know good work and we do good work! It’s humanizing." Cake,, 30Ĭake, like most self-taught tattoo artists, began her work on friends. It says that we're just as talented, no matter the color. Just because we're darker doesn't mean that we're not capable of it or capable of having them.

black ink tattoo shop black ink tattoo shop

We deserve to have good bodies of work on our bodies, too. To Debbi, this shift in the industry reveals a lot about the relationship Black people have to tattoos and only emphasizes her desire to ink dark skin. Making sure that you have someone that you trust to do this kind of medical procedure on you is really important." Because tattooing is trauma and our bodies store trauma. I have people who come to me like, 'You're the only person I trust with my skin.' And I’m very honored to even hold that much importance in someone's life. It's the slightest difference that I'm making, but I feel like it helps so many people feel confident in their skin, and that's really important to me: being able to use my talent and the work that I do to make someone else have a better day. I feel like it's my job, as a Black person with privilege, to use my talents to help people who are underserved.

#Black ink tattoo shop skin#

"It wasn't like I was working on white skin and then had to translate that into brown skin. "Since the beginning of my journey as a tattoo artist, I've always worked on dark skin and brown skin, because that was the community I was serving, the community that I grew up in," Quiara shares. Today, she creates much larger, vibrant, and intricate pieces with a machine in a new studio she recently opened with her friend Tann. Quiara started tattooing in 2018 with stick-and-poking. Send me pictures, tag me on social media.' It's helpful in terms of our education as tattoo artists to see what we're doing and how we can evolve." Quiara,, 23 Message your clients and be like, 'Hey, I'd love to hear how your tattoo healed. those clients that are frequently coming back to me. "I have so many clients that don't send me healed images, or they don't give me feedback.

black ink tattoo shop

This comprehensive approach is something that she believes more artists should adopt, especially when working on folks with darker skin. Give POC and Black people discounts if you're practicing, just so you can gain that experience."īrittany takes a holistic approach to tattooing - she considers the condition of her clients' skin, their skin types, and how their past tattoos have healed. "Let your clients know that you're not familiar with, if they are willing to work with you on it, and they trust you to try. "I even have some white clients that ink is maybe more difficult to get into their skin, and vice versa." If you're an artist who doesn't have much experience working on darker skin tones, Brittany says that transparency is key. "It has more to do with skin type in my opinion, and that's with every complexion," she shares. For Brittany, the deep color is not what makes tattooing darker skin different from other skin tones. Brittany,, 28īrittany is a self-taught Toronto-based tattoo artist whose work specifically focuses on Black and brown skin. We spoke to seven tattoo artists who regularly work on and create gorgeous ink on dark skin about their experiences and how other artists can educate themselves on working with melanated complexions.








Black ink tattoo shop